top of page
Photo du rédacteurChloé

BROWN SKIN GIRL X BLACK WOMAN GREET YOU: NEW ANTHEM OF BLACK GIRLS AND WOMAN



Hello everyone ! I hope you are well and enjoy your holidays pleasantly or not!

If you work I hope you enjoy your weekend!

 I work since May that is to say since the end of classes, this largely explains my lack of activity on "Fifty shades of Chloe" but it's soon holidays for me and I would be in able to write to you full of new articles. (I talk a lot too much as usual!)


Today, I write this article a little thanks to Queen B. After listening to his new album with African resonances and consonances: "The Lion King: The Gift" on the occasion of the release of "The Lion King" . One of the titles struck me particularly.



The title "Brown skin girl" appealed strongly to me.


 This title has become viral on the internet (instagram) among all young girls and black women in a few weeks. Many covers appeared.


This title is in collaboration with Wizkid, Saint JHN and his daughter Blue Ivy who sings from the first minutes of the title: "Brown skin girl, your skin just like pearl, the best thing in the world, never trade for anybody else singin '




Beyoncé uses "BROWN SKIN" as a hymn for black girls and women, telling them to be proud of her, especially their skin color and especially

"Embrace it girl!"


We can hear her say:


"Have you looked in the mirror lately? Wish you could work with me because of your complexities, but your skin, it glow like diamonds, dig me like the earth, you're giving birth. Took everything in life, baby know your worth!


I love everything about you, from your nappy curls, to every single curve, your body natural. Same skin that was broken into the same skin takin 'over. Most things out of focus, view. But when you're in the room they notice you. Cause you're beautiful "


This is my favorite part that sounds like an "Ode to the black woman" and who has glorified it.


However, this title leaves me both perplexed and raises a lot of questions in me.


"Brown skin" is only for girls with black skin, excluding the "light skin" designating in the USA the mestizo and girls with fair skin (black).


Beyoncé cites besides the artists "brown skin": "Pose like a trophy like Naomis walk in, she need an oscar for that pretty dark skin

Pretty like Lupita when the camera close in.

Drip broke the levee when my Kellys roll in "




We come back to this theme of "colorism" or "shadism".

it is a discrimination based on the skin color, favoring fair skin.

If we take a closer look, you will never see a title of "white skin girl" or "light skin girl" style that would make absolutely no sense.

Why ?

Because they do not need it being already "favored" by society.

On the other hand, why would black and particularly dark skin girls need it?


I wondered if Beyoncé was the artist best placed to interpret this title.

She's not "brown skin", we know that she has used several extreme bleaching techniques.

But is it also an awareness on his part ?


I hope you enjoy this article, if you have any questions do not hesitate to let me know.

I wish you a pleasant end of the day.


See you soon !

85 vues0 commentaire

Comments


bottom of page